Boil ‘em, mash ‘em, stick ‘em in a stew

PO-TA-TOES, friends! They are here! The Pontiac Red seed potatoes that I sewed in April are ready for harvesting. I’ve been ducking into the potato patch whenever I can to pop out a few taters here and there.

Yesterday’s 30 minute session yielded about 6 pounds of spuds from the 1.5 rows I poked around in. If this is how all harvests will go, we may end up with a few hundred pounds of potatoes this year! We have a nice root cellar and can store loads of them, but if you find yourself at the Summer Hillstead any time soon please don’t let me allow you to leave without taking at least a handful of taters home with you 😉

I noticed that the spuds I harvested from plants that I hilled (gradually added dirt around the plants over time as they grew) are much larger than those I didn’t hill. Those I didn’t hill seemed to produce a greater number of taters. Maybe it all evens out in terms of volume of potatoes produced. Stay tuned for more hot spud action!

About Sarah

Pronouns: she/hers. Hillsteader, mom to a human and many animals and plants, partner, researcher, empath.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Hillstead Foods and Feeds, Outsidey Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Boil ‘em, mash ‘em, stick ‘em in a stew

  1. Maggi Davidson says:

    That potato looks so good,

  2. Maggi Davidson says:

    Although, as I look again, it’s mouth is turned down, and it only has one tooth.

Leave a comment